KNOWLEDGE COMMUNITY

The Past & Future of Fei Cui Design
  • 2021-06-24
  • 12:00 - 12:30 (Hong Kong)
    05:00 - 05:30 (London)
    09:30 - 10:00 (Delhi)
    00:00 - 00:30 (New York)
  • Cantonese
Details

Since the Qing dynasty, Fei Cui (jadeite jade) holds a very special place in Chinese culture. The gemstone, prized for its incredible green colour, was favoured by the Imperial Court and has since been synonymous with nobility, beauty and perfection. Today, designers and jewellers are making this much-loved gemstone more accessible through contemporary designs.

In this presentation, Fei Cui expert and jewellery designer, Yen Kwan, will give an overview of the evolution of Fei Cui jewellery designs and styles, from the Qing Imperial Court and the Shanghai era to modern times. Yen will also share outstanding examples of Fei Cui jewellery pieces showcasing Chinese craftsmanship and even Western-inspired designs. Join this session and discover the many faces of Fei Cui today!

Speaker
  • Yen Kwan
    Vice Principal of The Hong Kong Institute of Gemmology (HKIG)

    Yen Kwan is the Vice Principal of The Hong Kong Institute of Gemmology (HKIG), and manager of and jewellery designer at China-based CMOY Jade. He has been the director of The Master Valuer Program in China since 2000. Yen obtained his Diamond Member of the Gemmological Association (DGA) status in the same year.

Business Matching Service - Request for quotation
What type of products are you looking for?
What is your target price/unit (in USD)? *
What is your target order quantity?