KNOWLEDGE COMMUNITY

JNA Conversations: Return & Recovery – The Asian Perspective
  • 2020-09-16
  • 17:00 - 18:00(Hong Kong)
    10:00 - 11:00(London)
    14:30 - 15:30(Delhi)
    05:00 - 06:00(New York)
  • English
Details

The Covid-19 pandemic has disrupted business and trading conditions throughout the gem and jewellery pipeline.

For months, the international jewellery industry was at a standstill as virus-containment efforts shuttered establishments, forced the cancellation of physical trade fairs, ushered in digital initiatives to replace in-person trading, and essentially reshaped commercial strategies and operations.

With markets now in varying stages of recovery, JNA casts the spotlight on Asia to see how manufacturing and wholesale centres are sustaining momentum and seizing opportunities amid the pandemic.

In this webinar, industry leaders from key Asian markets share their insights on:

· The impact of coronavirus on their main sectors

· The new normal in a Covid-19 world

· Their outlook for the coming year

Speakers
  • Suttipong Damrongsakul
    Chairman, ASEAN Gems & Jewellery Association

    Suttipong Damrongsakul has made vital contributions to Thailand’s gemstone and jewellery sector, having led influential trade organisations throughout his career. He was recently named chairman of the ASEAN Gems & Jewellery Association, whose mandate is to promote free trade and regional growth in Southeast Asia’s jewellery sector. Damrongsakul is also advisor to the Thai Gem & Jewelry Traders Association, where he served as past president. He is currently managing director of Gemopolis Industrial Estate. Damrongsakul holds a political science degree from Thailand’s Ramkhamhaeng University and master’s degrees from Roosevelt University in Chicago and Thammasat University in Thailand.

  • Ken Lo
    Chairman, Hong Kong Jewellery & Jade Manufacturers Association

    Industry veteran Ken Lo is a leading figure in the jewellery trade. He is currently chairman of the Hong Kong Jewellery & Jade Manufacturers Association; vice-chairman of the Diamond Federation of Hong Kong, China Ltd; and member of the Jewellery Advisory Committee of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council. Over the years, Lo has actively liaised with global partners to explore business opportunities for Hong Kong jewellers. With a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce from the University of Toronto, Lo joined the family business, Foo Hang Jewellery Ltd, in 1979. He then founded Eternity Manufacturing Ltd in 1986 where he serves as director.

  • (Moderator) Olivia Quiniquini
    Associate Publisher & Editor-in-Chief, JNA / Jewellery Media, Informa Markets Jewellery
Business Matching Service - Request for quotation
What type of products are you looking for?
What is your target price/unit (in USD)? *
What is your target order quantity?